Applications for the Class of 2023 open in December!

Each year, 20 college-bound students will receive $1,000 to help cover the cost of higher education. This scholarship program was created to honor Frank Price Cunningham and Helen Shipman Cunningham’s long-standing and dedicated service to the credit union. 

Here are the details:

  • To be eligible, students (or their parent/guardian) must be a Firstmark member in good standing.
  • The funds can be used at any academically accredited two- or four-year college or university.
  • Five scholarships are reserved for students who plan to enter the education field.
  • Firstmark Credit Union employees, Board Members and their families are not eligible to participate in the scholarship program.

With these scholarships, we believe we are “paying it forward,” to students who will work toward making a positive and meaningful difference in the world.


Individuals wanting to make a tax deductible contribution to the Cunningham Scholarship Fund may do so by making their checks payable to the San Antonio Area Foundation and mailing it to:

Firstmark Credit Union – Cunningham Scholarship
PO Box 701650
San Antonio, TX 78270-1650

Please indicate on the check that your contribution is for the Cunningham Scholarship Fund.

2021 Cunningham Scholarship Recipients

Natalia Cardenas | Providence Catholic School

Iliana Cruz | Antonian College Preparatory High School

Jacinda Esquivel | Idea Monterrey Park

Christian Joseph Garza | Byron P Steele High School

Sophia Godinez | Young Women’s Leadership Academy

Lauren Tristen Gonzalez | Communication Arts High School

Sarah Guerrero | Advanced Learning Academy

Elisabeth Gutierrez | Sidney Lanier High School

Catalina Hernandez | South San High School

Alejandro Hopkins | Central Catholic High School

Zoe Lehmann | Alamo Heights High School

Zachary Kevin Luzius | Tivy High School

Alejandra M. Miranda | John Jay High School

Brandyn Ramirez | Cotulla High School

Marly Rokas | Veterans Memorial High School

Sarah Rutkoski | Churchill High School

Sara Scheidt | John Marshall High School

Danielle Toscano | McCollum High School

Karina Trejo | Harlandale High School

Samantha Ytuarte | James Madison High School