Firstmark Credit Union Awards $20,000 in Scholarships


Valerie C. Bravo | Firstmark Credit Union | [email protected] | 210.499.6613

San Antonio, TX (August 24, 2021) – Since 1932, Firstmark Credit Union has been a champion of educators and is proud to continue their long tradition by offering scholarships to local, graduating high school seniors for their outstanding achievements.

President and CEO Nathanael Tarwasokono is proud to announce the 2021 Frank Price Cunningham & Helen Shipman Cunningham Scholarship recipients.

“Our recipients showed great resilience to complete their senior year of high school during a year marked by unprecedented challenges,” Tarwasokono said. “We are happy to celebrate their accomplishments by offering each graduate a $1,000 scholarship to pursue their goals for higher education.”

Ms. Clare Coleman, board member and scholarship committee chair, added, “This year’s recipients are entering various fields of study, such as teaching, politics, architecture, engineering and nursing. We are proud to help these high school seniors pay for higher education and to invest in their future careers.”  

Each year, Firstmark Credit Union awards $1,000 scholarships to 20 high school seniors to aid with college costs. The Frank Price Cunningham & Helen Shipman Cunningham scholarship fund was established to honor the long-standing commitment of Mr. and Mrs. Cunningham, who together served the credit union for more than 75 years as president and vice president, respectively. Since 1993, Firstmark has awarded over $200,000 in scholarships to outstanding high school seniors in our community.

This year’s scholarship recipients are as follows:

Natalia Cardenas | Providence Catholic School

Zoe Lehmann | Alamo Heights High School

Iliana Cruz | Antonian College Preparatory High School

Zachary Kevin Luzius | Tivy High School

Jacinda Esquivel | IDEA Monterrey Park

Alejandra M. Miranda | John Jay High School

Christian Joseph Garza | Byron P. Steele II High School

Brandyn Ramirez | Cotulla High School

Sophia Godinez | Young Women’s Leadership Academy

Marley Rokas | Veterans Memorial High School

Lauren Tristen Gonzalez | Communication Arts High School

Sarah Rutkoski | Churchill High School

Sarah Guerrero | Advanced Learning Academy

Sara Scheidt | John Marshall High School

Elisabeth Gutierrez | Sidney Lanier High School

Danielle Toscano | McCollum High School

Catalina Hernandez | South San High School

Karina Trejo | Harlandale High School

Alejandro Hopkins | Central Catholic High School

Samantha Ytuarte | James Madison High School

Founded by educators, Firstmark is committed to supporting the education community. In addition to student scholarships, the credit union offers educator discounts and benefits, classroom grants, and back-to-school loans for teachers. To learn more about Firstmark’s efforts, visit

About Firstmark Credit Union
Firstmark Credit Union has been helping people for more than 88 years. The Firstmark story began in 1932 at Fox Tech High School where ten teachers signed a charter to form the San Antonio Teachers Credit Union. Firstmark has grown the ten teachers’ original $475 investment to almost 100,000 members and over $1 billion in assets. Firstmark is a not-for-profit, member-owned financial institution focused on helping people to better their lives. For more information, visit or call 210.342.8484.