Annual Meeting Notice

Firstmark Credit Union will hold its Annual Membership Meeting on Tuesday, April 12, 2022. Time and location to be determined

There are two (2) director positions open for election in 2022. The Nominating Committee, appointed by the Chairman of the Board, has nominated one member for each board position to be filled. The two (2) positions, the terms for each position, and the nominees are as follows:

Position 1 (term: 2022 – 2025)     Ignacio Orozco, Jr., Incumbent Director

Position 2 (term: 2022 – 2025)     Matthew Ralph, Incumbent Director

A brief statement of qualifications and biographical data for each of the nominees is included with this notice.

Further nominations may be made by official petition signed by 500 eligible members. Official petitions and the rules and instructions for the completion of the official petition may be obtained by contacting the credit union’s administrative office, located at 2023 Gold Canyon Drive, San Antonio, Texas 78232, between the hours of 9 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday. Official petitions must be completed in full compliance with the election rules as set forth in the Rules and Instructions for the completion of the official petition, and must include each signer’s signature and printed name, the last four (4) digits of the signer’s member number, and the signer’s complete address and telephone number. Members who are 18 years of age or older and who meet certain requirements under the Texas Finance Code and regulations of the Texas Credit Union Commission are eligible for election. Official petitions must be accompanied by a signed statement from the nominee that he or she is agreeable to the nomination and will accept office if elected, and should also include a brief statement of qualifications and biographical data. Elected officials are legally responsible for the fiscal integrity of the credit union and for compliance with state and federal laws.

Official petitions must be filed with the Secretary of the Board of Directors at the credit union office located at 2023 Gold Canyon Drive, San Antonio, Texas 78232, by 4 p.m. on Friday, November 12, 2021, which is the closing date for receiving nominations by petition. If no official petitions are received by 4 p.m. on Friday, November 12, 2021, there will be no election by ballot and no nominations from the floor. When only one member is nominated for each position to be filled, each nominee shall be deemed elected by general consent or acclamation. If there is more than one nominee for any position, the election shall be by mail ballot and the Secretary of the Board of Directors shall cause printed ballots to be mailed to members eligible to vote. In such event, the election shall be determined by plurality vote.

2022 Board of Directors Election Candidates

Ignacio Orozco, Jr. (Incumbent Director)

Member of Firstmark Credit Union for more than 50 years and a lifelong educator, Mr. Orozco began his career in 1961 at Irving Junior High School and Fox Tech High School. Graduate of St. Mary’s University, Mr. Orozco holds both a bachelor’s and master’s degree in English. In 1968, he became Professor of English at San Antonio College and continued in this position until his retirement in 2008. A former member of the Texas Community College Teachers Association, Mr. Orozco has served on the Firstmark Credit Union Board of Directors since 1971 and was appointed secretary of the Board in 2015.

Matthew Ralph (Incumbent Director)

Mr. Ralph began his professional career as an officer in the United States Air Force, where he served for over 20 years. He is currently an Associate Director for the Air Force Audit Agency in San Antonio. Mr. Ralph holds a bachelor’s degree in Accounting from the University of Notre Dame and a master’s degree in Administrative Management/Business Administration. Mr. Ralph began his service to the credit union in 2012 as a member of the Audit Committee. He then joined the Board of Directors as an advisory director in 2013 and was appointed a director of the Board in 2015. In 2018, Mr. Ralph was elected to serve as treasurer of the Board.