Press Releases


Mark Leita, Marketing/Public Relations
Firstmark Credit Union
(210) 308-7899

Annual Scholarships Awarded to Fifteen Area High School Seniors
Legacy Program Contributes $15,000 to Higher Education Cause

San Antonio, TX (May 18, 2016) – For over 20 years, Firstmark Credit Union has been awarding deserving local high school seniors critical scholarships  to help them realize their higher education dreams. Nathanael Tarwasokono, President and CEO of Firstmark Credit Union, is proud to announce the 2016 winners of the Frank Price Cunningham & Helen Shipman Cunningham Scholarships. Under this program, fifteen area high school seniors will receive $1,000 each.

“Our Board of Directors believes in the power of education and what it can mean for a young person,” said Tarwasokono. “As an educators credit union, we are deeply committed to helping students and their families reach their full potential.”

This year’s scholarship recipients include:  

Emma Hodgson
Alamo Heights High School

Mariah Arevalos
St. Anthony Catholic High School

Matthew Russell
Antonian High School

Kathryn Budde
East Central High School

Gayle Talamantez
John F. Kennedy High School

Alyssa Garza
Southside High School

Sara Salmon
Harlandale High School

Alejandro Lopez
Karen Wagner High School

Madison Morales
Judson Early College Academy

Payton Green
Winston Churchill High School

Diane Thongkam
Theodore Roosevelt High School

Dana Dominguez
John Paul Stevens High School

Tara Kerestes
Sandra Day O'Connor High School

Daniel Russell
Luther Burbank High School

Veronica Santamaria
Sam Houston High School

In 2016, a total of 181 applications were submitted and reviewed by the credit union’s scholarship committee. Applicants must be a Firstmark member, be in the top 15% of their class, demonstrate academic achievement and community involvement in the San Antonio area. The scholarships may be used for any education or education-related expenses students may incur.

“Recognizing students who are leaders in their community and helping our members meet the financial requirements of higher education has always been our goal,” added Tarwasokono. “We are honored to invest in these dynamic students’ future and their dreams.”

The Frank Price Cunningham & Helen Shipman Cunningham scholarships were established to honor the life-long service and commitment of Mr. and Mrs. Cunningham, who served the credit union as president from 1938-1984 and vice president from 1951-1984, respectively. Since 1993, Firstmark has awarded over $200,000 in scholarships to outstanding high school seniors in our community.

About Firstmark Credit Union
Firstmark Credit Union is committed to giving back to our community and making a difference in the lives of others. Founded in 1932 by educators, Firstmark is San Antonio’s oldest state-chartered credit union, managing over $1 billion in assets and serving members throughout Bexar County and many surrounding counties in southwest Texas with sixteen locations. Firstmark is a not-for-profit, member-owned financial institution, dedicated to meeting the needs of our members with innovative products, competitive rates, and personal service. For more information, visit or call (210) 342-8484.