Board of Directors Annual Election Notice

There are three (3) director positions open for election in 2014. The Nominating Committee, appointed by the Chairman of the Board, has nominated one member for each board position to be filled. The three positions, the terms for each position, and the nominees are as follows:

  • Position 1 (term: 2014 - 2017) — Redell Ervin (Incumbent - Director)
  • Position 2 (term: 2014 - 2017) — Anthony Petri (Incumbent - Director)
  • Position 3 (term: 2014 - 2017) — Clare Coleman (Incumbent - Director)

A brief statement of qualifications and biographical data for each of the nominees is included with this notice.

82nd Annual Meeting

Firstmark Credit Union will
hold its 82nd Annual Meeting at 6 p.m. on Tuesday, March 11, 2014. The Annual Meeting will be held at:

Firstmark Credit Union
2023 Gold Canyon Drive
San Antonio, TX 78232

Further nominations may be made by official petition signed by 500 eligible members. Official petitions and the rules and instructions for the completion of the official petition may be obtained by contacting the credit union’s executive office, located at 2023 Gold Canyon Drive, San Antonio, Texas 78232, between the hours of 9 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday. Official petitions must be completed in full compliance with the election rules as set forth in the Rules and Instructions for the completion of the official petition, and must include each signer’s signature and printed name, the last 4 digits of the signer’s member number, and the signer’s complete address and telephone number. Members who are 18 years of age or older and who meet certain requirements under the Texas Finance Code and regulations of the Texas Credit Union Commission are eligible for election. Official petitions must be accompanied by a signed statement from the nominee that he or she is agreeable to the nomination and will accept offi ce if elected, and should also include a brief statement of qualifications and biographical data. Elected officials are legally responsible for the fiscal integrity of the credit union and for compliance with state and federal laws.

Official petitions must be filed with the Secretary of the Board of Directors at the credit union office located at 2023 Gold Canyon Drive, San Antonio, Texas 78232, by 4 p.m. on Monday, November 4, 2013, which is the closing date for receiving nominations by petition. If no official petitions are received by 4 p.m. on Monday, November 4, 2013, there will be no election by ballot and no nominations from the floor. When only one member is nominated for each position to be fi lled, each nominee shall be deemed elected by general consent or acclamation. If there is more than one nominee for any position, the election shall be by mail ballot and the Secretary of the Board of Directors shall cause printed ballots to be mailed to members eligible to vote. In such event, the election shall be determined by plurality vote.

Redell Ervin (Incumbent – Director)

A member of Firstmark Credit Union since 1971, Ms. Redell Ervin’s distinguished career as an elementary school teacher and assistant principal with the South San Antonio Independent School District spanned thirty-six years until her retirement in 2004. A native Texan, Ms. Ervin earned a Bachelor of Arts degree from Houston Tillotson University and a Master of Arts degree from Prairie View University before relocating permanently to San Antonio. Ms. Ervin now devotes the majority of her retirement time visiting hospitals, nursing homes, and residential care facilities, working in several church ministries, traveling and fishing. Her civic involvement includes active membership in both AARP and the Texas Teachers Retirement Association. Ms. Ervin has served on the Board of Directors since 1975, and on the ALCO Committee for the past seven years.

Anthony Petri (Incumbent – Director)

A graduate of Devine High School, Mr. Petri earned his bachelor of science degree in Secondary Education from Texas A&I University Kingsville and his Master of Education from Our Lady of the Lake University. He then embarked on a 33-year career dedicated to education with the Northeast ISD, including positions as principal of Dwight Eisenhower and Douglas MacArthur High School, as well as Executive Director of Pupil Personnel Services. During his career, Mr. Petri sought additional opportunities to invest in the advancement of education and the community at large. Examples of his extensive involvement include service on the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals Board of Directors; Site Visitor for the US Department of Education Blue Ribbon Schools program; Member and Chair of the Bexar Country School Juvenille Justice Program; and various financial, technological, and administrative leadership positions. Retired in 1998, Mr. Petri now enjoys traveling and spending time with family. He joined the Firstmark Credit Union Board of Directors as an advisory director in 2009, and was appointed director in 2012.

Clare Coleman (Incumbent – Director)

Prior to her retirement in 1999 as a teacher for the San Antonio Independent School District, Ms. Coleman traveled throughout the world during 32 years of service as teacher and counselor for the Department of Defense, including assignments in Germany, Japan, the Philippines, and Panama. Ms. Coleman earned her bachelor’s degree from Trinity University and Master of Education from Our Lady of the Lake University. She is actively involved in the American Association of Retired People (AARP) and the National Active and Retired Federal Employees Association (NARFE). A life-long golf enthusiast, she also volunteers much of her time to the Northern Hills Women’s Golf Association and enjoys traveling to numerous tournaments across the nation. Ms. Coleman joined the Firstmark Credit Union Board of Directors as an advisory director in 2008, and was appointed a director of the Board in 2009.